Skip to content

Learning at St Clare's

St Clare's Catholic Primary School, Narellan Vale is registered by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) and is subject to its curriculum requirements. 

Teachers develop an educational program based on the outcomes of the NESA syllabuses in the following Key Learning Areas (KLAs).

This is in addition to a course in Religious Education.

In English, students develop knowledge, skills and understandings about English language and literature and the ability to talk, listen, read, view and write with purpose, effect and confidence. They develop knowledge of the ways in which language varies according to context and a sound grasp of language structures, spelling and grammar.

The three broad strands of English are: Talking & Listening, Reading, and Writing.

Students also have access to a range of interventions, including MiniLIt and MacqLit.

Mathematics involves the development of students’ thinking, understanding, competence and confidence in the application of Mathematics.

The five broad strands of Mathematics are: Number and Algebra, Measurement and Geography, Statistics and Probability.

In Science and Technology, students develop competence, confidence and responsibility in their interactions with science and technology.

The strands of Science and Technology are: Living World, Material World, Physical World, Earth and Space, and Digital Technologies.

Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE) enhances each student’s sense of personal, community, national and global identity and enables them to participate effectively in maintaining and improving the quality of their society and environment.

The strands of HSIE are: History and Geography

Creative Arts enables students to gain increasing understanding and accomplishment in the visual arts, music, drama and dance, and to appreciate the meanings and values that each art form offers personally, culturally and as a form of communication.

The strands of Creative Arts are: Visual Arts, Music, Drama and Dance.

Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE) develops the knowledge, skills, understandings, values and attitudes students need to lead healthy, active and fulfilling lives.

The strands of PDHPE are: Healthy Safe and Active Lifestyles; Health, Wellbeing and Relationships; Movement Skills and Performance.

As part of the Religious Education (RE) curriculum, over the course of the school year, the students engage in eight units of work which are delivered daily. The content of these units reflect the liturgical and sacramental life of the Church, focus on the lives of holy men and women of the Church, examine different forms of prayer and promote issues of social justice within our local area and the broader world. 

Read more about Religious Education at St Clare's here

The primary (K-6) curriculum is organised into four Stages of learning: 

Early Stage 1


Stage 1

Year 1 and Year 2

Stage 2

Year 3 and Year 4

Stage 3

Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage. Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their Stage.

For more information on the NSW curriculum, visit the NESA website.


Our school has a focus on developing authentic and meaningful learning opportunities where students are actively engaged in the learning process and work towards achieving an individual or common purpose.

Did You Know: St Clare's is committed to working in partnership with families and community in welcoming Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students – supporting them to reach their full potential and to embrace their culture and identity. Read more here